Visit the Trail

Located at the National Park Service web site, the‚Äč "Places to Go" page provides a partial listing of the official certified sites along the Trail of Tears National Historic Trail. The National Park Service certifies properties associated with the Trail of Tears National Historic Trail, including historic properties, trail segments, and interpretive centers. Each site listing has information about that individual site, with hyperlinks to those sites' web pages that have one.

Under the provisions of the National Trails System Act, trail sites and segments on non-federal land become part of the national historic trail only if the owner asks that their property be certified by the National Park Service. Certification is accomplished by a simple written agreement between the owner/manager and the National Trails System Office - Santa Fe in which both agree to cooperate to protect trail resources and to make the trail site or segment available for some degree of public use. Certification agreements are completely voluntary. Certified sites may display the official Trail of Tears National Historic Trail logo and are eligible for financial assistance and technical assistance from the National Park Service for resource management and protection, visitor use development, and interpretation.

Click here to view the "Places to Go" section of the NPS website.

Below is a full list of certified sites.

Certified Sites
  • Audubon Acres
  • Brainerd Mission Cemetery
  • Browns Ferry Tavern
  • Chattanooga Regional
    History Museum
  • David Crockett State Park
    Trail Segment
  • Hair Conrad Cabin
  • The Hermitage
  • Hiwassee River Heritage Center
  • James Brown
    Cherokee Plantation
  • John Martin House
  • Port Royal State Park
  • Red Clay State Historic Area
  • Sequoyah Birthplace Museum
  • Tennessee River Museum
  • City of North Little Rock Riverfront Park
  • Delta Cultural Center
  • Fitzgerald Station and Farmstead
  • Lake Dardanelle State Park
  • La Petite Roche
  • Mount Nebo State Park
  • Petit Jean State Park
  • Pinnacle Mountain State Park
  • Village Creek State Park
  • Cedartown Cherokee
    Removal Camp
  • Chieftains Museum/Major
    Ridge Home
  • Funk Heritage Center
  • Historic Road from Ross
    to Ridge’s
  • John Ross House
  • New Echota State Historic Site
  • Rockdale Plantation/George Adair Home
  • Running Waters,
    John Ridge Home
  • Vann Cherokee Cabin
  • Vann House Historic Site
  • Campground Church and Cemetery
  • Crabb-Abbot Farm
  • Golconda Riverfront
  • Hamburg Hill
  • Jentel Farm Trail Segment
  • McGinnis Cemetery Trail Segment
  • Toler Farm Trail Segment
  • Wagner Farm Trail Segment
  • Berry’s Ferry and
    John Berry Homesite
  • Big Spring
  • Columbus-Belmont State Park
  • Crider Tavern Complex
  • Gray’s Inn
  • Mantle Rock
  • Radford Farm
  • Trail of Tears
    Commemorative Park
  • Arcadia Valley Campground
  • Green County Trail Segments
  • Laughlin Park
  • Maramec Spring Park/Massey Iron Works
  • Snelson-Brinker Cabin
  • Star City Ranch Trail Segment
  • Trail of Tears State Park
  • Andrew Ross House
  • Fort Payne Cabin Site
  • Tuscumbia Landing
  • Waterloo Landing
  • Willstown Mission Cemetery
  • Cherokee Heritage Center
  • Fort Gibson
  • Murrell Home
  • Cherokee County
    Historical Museum
  • Junaluska Memorial and Museum
  • Museum of the Cherokee Indian
Federal Protection Components and Interpretive Sites
  • Arkansas Post National Memorial, AR
  • Cadron Settlement Park, AR
  • Cherokee Memorial Park, Blythe Ferry, TN
  • Fort Smith National Historic Site, AR
  • Great Smoky Mountains National Park, TN
  • Mark Twain National Forest, MO
  • Mocassin Bend, TN
  • Pea Ridge National Military Park, AR
  • Shawnee National Forest, IL
  • Stones River National Battlefield, TN
Share by: