Illinois Chapter

Contact Information
Illinois TOTA Chapter
P.O. Box 313
Anna, IL 62906
Phone: 618-697-0097

Board of Directors
President, Sandra Boaz –
Vice President, Heather Carey –
Secretary, Phillip Stucker –
Treasurer, Dr. Harvey Henson –
Director, Kayeleigh Sharp –
Director, Dr. Mark Wagner –
Emeritus Board Member, Gary Hacker –

The National Board Members are Sandra Boaz and Dr. Mark Wagner.

Research Projects
  • Assisting landowners to get sites along the Trail certified
  • Collecting GPS coordinates along the original route for the National Park Service to more accurately mark the Trail
  • Researching and marking the Water Route along the Illinois bank of the Ohio and Mississippi Rivers
  • ​Periodically, offering guided bus tours of the trail segments and sites in Illinois
  • Working with Illinois Department of Transportation to improve interpretive signage and design displays/waysides along the Auto Trail Route 
  • Working with local county highway departments to install “Original Route” signage along the Trail 
  • Developing a K-12 Trails of Tears curriculum that meets state standards for use in local schools  
  • Incorporating the Trail of Tears into the 2018 Illinois Bicentennial celebration
  • Identifying and researching possible witness buildings in southern Illinois
Share by: